NHL Begins Handing Out Awards, Bergeron Wins King Clancy Trophy


The NHL began handing out many of its annual awards Friday. Winners of the 2013 Selke, Jack Adams, Lady Byng, King Clancy, Masterton, and Marc Messier awards were all announced. Some of the bigger name awards including MVP and Rookie of the Year will be revealed Saturday night.

Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks was named the Frank J. Selke Trophy winner, as he was recognized for being the game’s best defensive forward. Toews edged out Patrice Bergeron and Pavel Datsyuk.

Ottawa Senators head coach Paul MacLean received the Jack Adams award. MacLean’s extraordinary job in leading the Senators to the postseason earned him coach of the year honors. Joel Quenneville and Bruce Boudreau were also up for the award.

Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning earned himself a third Lady Byng Trophy. The Lady Byng is awarded to the player who exhibits the most sportsmanship. St. Louis previously won the trophy in 2009-2010 and 2010-2011. Patrick Kane and Matt Moulson were in the running for the award.

Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins took home the King Clancy Memorial Trophy. The King Clancy is awarded to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and who has made a significant humanitarian contribution to his community. Bergeron’s work in establishing a program known as “Patrice’s Pals” helped him earn this award. His program takes patients from local hospitals and children’s centers to Bruins games. He then meets with the attendees.

Josh Harding of the Minnesota Wild returned to the play after being diagnosed with MS this past offseason. Because of his amazing achievement, Harding was awarded the Bill Masterton trophy. The Masterton is awarded to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.

The Marc Messier Leadership Award was given to Daniel Alfredsson of the Ottawa Senators. Alfredsson’s hard work in captaining a depleted Sens team to the playoffs was no small feat and he was rewarded for it.

Ray Shero of the Pittsburgh Penguins was named the GM of the Year.

Frank O’Laughlin – Lead NHL Contributor – TitleTown Sports Network




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: